Cole, Clayton and Justin – 1st Time in Nearly 40 Years

By jason keen
Updated: October 7, 2011
Cole Hamels & Clayton Kershaw

Shortly after the all-star break every baseball analyst in American had already crowned Justin Verlander and Roy Halladay as the A.L. and N.L. Cy Young Award winners. But when Clayton Kershaw finished with a 13-2 record and an earned run average below 2.00 over the last three months, including a 4-0 record with a 1.30 earned run average in September analysts notice and quickly hopped on the band wagon.

I am all for a guy (Halladay) with a 19-6 record, 2.35 earn run average, and 220 strikeouts to win the Cy Young Award especially when that guy plays for the Phillies. With that said, when a player in your division finishes the season with more wins, a lower era and more strikeouts I am more compelled to vote for the other guy.

Clayton Kershaw and Justin Verlander would lead their respective division in wins, era and strikeouts (and WHIP) becoming the first pair to do so since Walter Johnson and Dazzy Vance did so in 1924. And speaking of something that “ain’t happened in a while” Cole Hamels, Clayton Kershaw and Justin Verlander became the first trio  to finish the season with a WHIP below 1.00 and a batting average against under .215 with at least 200 innings pitched in nearly 40 years when Steve Carlton, Catfish Hunter, Gaylord Perry (started baseball program at my Alma mater Limestone College), and Don Sutton did so in 1972.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Blogplay

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Spam Protection by WP-SpamFree