Rogers Hornsby, Babe Ruth and Ted Williams

By jason keen
Updated: September 18, 2010

Who is the best player ever? Is it the “Great Bambino” who showed dominance on the mound and at the plate? Is it the “Georgia Peach” who at the time of his retirement from the game held 90 records? Is it Teddy Ballgame who still holds the highest obp of all time? Or is it the “Say Hey Kid” who finished with 12 gold gloves and 650 home runs? The answer is there is no answer. That is what is so great about America’s Pasttime.

And while we repeatedly agree to disagree on the best player of all time we repeatedly agree to disagree on the best season of all time. With that said I can just give you the facts. And the fact is that Rogers Hornsby remains the only player ever to have a batting average higher than .400 and a slugging percentage higher than .750. Babe Ruth fell just short in 1923 with a .393 average and Ted Williams fell just short in 1941 with a .735 slugging percentage.

This Day in Baseball

After being no-hit yesterday by Giants’ hurler Gaylord Perry, the Cardinal hurler Ray Washburn returns the favor by no-hitting San Francisco, 2-0.

With a 3-0 victory over Milwaukee, the Tigers clinch the American League East title to become only the fourth team in major league history to lead from start to finish of a season. The other three clubs to accomplish the feat include the 1923 Giants, 1927 Yankees, and the 1955 Dodgers.

Roger Clemens ties his own record for strikeouts in game by mowing down 20 Tigers in the Red Sox 4-0 victory in Detroit. The ‘Rocket’ first achieved the feat a decade earlier against the Mariners.

Slammin’ Sammy Sosa becomes the first player in major league history to hit 60 homers twice. The Cub outfielder hits his milestone round-tripper off of Brewer hurler Jason Bere.

The Dodgers, who are last in the National League in homers, hit four consecutive home runs in an inning when Jeff Kent, J.D. Drew, Russell Martin and Marlon Anderson all go deep in the bottom of the ninth to tie the Padres at the nine. The improbable feat, which had only been accomplished by the 1964 Twins, 1963 Indians and the 1961 Braves, leads to Nomar Garciaparra’s walk-off two-run homer in the tenth and sole possession of first place as the Los Angeles beat the Friars 11-10.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Blogplay

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Spam Protection by WP-SpamFree